The Next Sock Adventure

December 30, 2008 at 3:04 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

So after the success of Kaylor’s house socks, I decided I needed a pair of my own, and whipped up a pair with some pretty teal yarn, but they didn’t quite come out as comfy as hers did, though they fit fine at the foot, they were really loose around the ankle.  One of the few things I can’t stand when socks do, so I knew I was going to need a better pair…

I found some great blue and chocolate verigated sportweight yarn at Hobby Lobby and a set of size 2 DPNs to try a real pair of socks. It was almost overwhelming to cast on those 60 stitches and get started but I was excited to see what I’d get. I was also excited to have also just gotten started with stuff on my Ravelry page, and wanted something to fill my projects with.

Its taken a few days, but I’ve finally gotten the first of the pair finished, and the next 60 stitches cast on ready for the next one. Thanks to KnittingDaily, I found a new way to finish socks that don’t involve the Kitchner stitch or completely binding off and sewing them up…

1 Comment

  1. eddye said,

    hi, I just started on the basic sock from paton and was wondering about one of the steps (my first sock) many tries. In making the heel, I understand about arranging the stitches but am confused about “Slip last 15 stitches of last round and knit first 15 stitches of next round onto one needle” I am afraid to go ahead because most instruction just have you divide the stitches up and then knit. Does it make a difference. If you can help, please email me. I want to do socks. Eddye Mae

Leave a comment